Rose Hart – Biomedical science

Rose Hart

Name: Rose Hart
Location: Sheffield, UK
Job Title: PhD student in Biomedical Science
What do you do?
I am looking at linking technologies to staple together proteins to make new drugs. This is done by taking toxic enzymes and attaching them to proteins which specifically target particular cell types, thereby delivering the enzyme to the cells without disrupting the surrounding tissue. I am currently trying to apply this to cancer, however my lab also looks at solutions for chronic pain.
What can I see?
This is the view looking to the south of Sheffield. I am on the fourth floor of a building on a hill so the answer is ‘a lot’. Directly in front of me I see the students union, then beyond that is Broomhall, Eccelsall, and Sharrow. Unfortunately it was not sunny on the day I took this but I can get some glorious views of the city and winter sunsets.
When I am not doing science I…
am mostly in bed sleeping. I love knitting, reading, cooking and going for long walks.